About Tangi 911

Tangi 911

Our Story

The Tangipahoa Communications District Number One was created by an ordinance of the Tangipahoa Parish Council on June 10, 1986, pursuant to the provisions of Louisiana Statute (LSA-RS) 33:9101-9106. The Communication District was organized to acquire and maintain the facilities and equipment necessary to provide emergency telephone response service (911) to residents of the entire parish of Tangipahoa, Louisiana. As a result of a three year study of the proposed "911" emergency service, it was recommended that the Communication District Board of Commissioners be appointed, and that an election call be made.

On August 13, 1990, the Tangipahoa Parish Council adopted Ordinance No. 26 of 1990 amending Ordinance 86-6A Section III, establishing a Communication District and providing for appointment of one member by the following sources to the Board of Commissioners:

• The Parish governing authority
• The Tangipahoa Parish Sheriffs Office
• The Parish hospitals
• The Municipal Law Enforcement Agencies
• The Rural Fire Protection Districts
• The City Fire Protection Districts
• The Ambulance Services

On November 6, 1990, the voters of the Communication District approved a levy on telephone service
necessary to implement Enhanced 911 (E 911) services to citizens of Tangipahoa Parish.

In May of 2005 the District moved into a new state of the art 6,000 square foot facility, including Administrative Offices, training room, Board meeting room and Communications Room. Also included were new 911 equipment as well as a CAD system, for the sheriffs’ office and fire dispatch, and a new radio system for the District.

The District is presently active in completing Phase II implementation with the wireless carriers in our area and is also in the final stages on implementing a Parish wide fire dispatch program.

The Communication District is staffed by 15 full-time employees and 10 part-time employees.


History of 911
How 911 works
What to tell the 911 operator

Board Members

Kim Moore (Chairman)
Tangipahoa Parish Sheriff's Office

Karen Volkmann

Patrick Sims
Ambulance Representative

Richard Cutrer
Rural Fire Service

Jerry Trabonna
Municipal Police

John Ballard
Member At Large

Jesse Hodges
Municipal Fire Service